The Tapa Bar, Victoria BC

30 Dec

I am often in Victoria as my family lives there. I normally eat out a lot when I’m there but have a tendency to visit the same places. My friend suggested the Tapa Bar to me and at first I wasn’t sure, but I agreed since I love trying new things and wanted to veer away from my usual spots for a change.

Walking in to The Tapa Bar in Victoria makes you feel immediately cozy, with the smells wafting at you as you enter, you can’t help but be lured in. The dimmed lighting, Spanish music, sounds of people talking and laughter all add to its charm. This Spanish themed restaurant is centered around its mantra of “Food to Share”. It features the gorgeous artwork by Mexican/Canadian Artist Luis Merino which you can see all over the restaurant. I was lucky enough to enjoy some of what The Tapa Bar has to offer on a chilly night in
December and I was blown away by the experience.

We started the evening off with a bottle of VQA wine at the reasonable price of just $28, their small selection of wines really does have something for everyone without breaking the bank. I can’t remember the name of the wine unfortunately but it was a delicious red medium body jewel! After enjoying a few sips we looked over the menu and decided on some vegetarian tapas (as I don’t eat meat). They were all AMAZING.

We enjoyed their Mixed Olives first (which are marinated in house). At just $3 this is a treat not to be missed! They come served in olive oil, fresh basil and include some roasted garlic. All that is good enough, but throw in the foccacia that is included and its perfect for soaking up the yummy oil and basil afterward! The flavours were so rich I wanted to order more… but I didn’t! I had to save room.

Next we tried their Chile Relleno (roasted poblano pepper, stuffed with cheese & salsa fresca on a corn tortilla topped with sour cream $8.50 ) the heat from the pepper paired with the fresh salsa, salty cheese and creamy sour cream was a taste sensation!

We then moved on to the Tostada (crisp corn tortilla topped with salsa verde, mushrooms & goat cheese $8.50 ) which was my favorite! The earthy mushrooms were flavored just right and made me savor each and every bite!

Last but not least we decided to go for some dessert and splurged with their Crème Brule Trio! $8. It featured a vanilla, chocolate and coconut brule, each bursting with flavor and crunchy/creamy texture!

After all this amazing food, I most definitely opted to skip the cab and walk (well roll) myself home. You must try this place if you make your way down Trounce Alley in Victoria! It is a great place for a date, dinner with friends, or a place to take the parents/in laws alike!

The Tapa Bar
620 Trounce Alley
Victoria, BC V8W 1K3
(250) 383-0013
www.tapabar.ca

*photo credit: http://www.tapabar.ca

Leave a Reply

