My lunch at Gorilla Food

1 Nov

I have been trying for months to get to Gorilla Food but I can never seem to make it during their business hours. Finally this past Saturday, I was able to stop in to enjoy some of their fine vegan, raw delights!

Gorilla Food is located near Richards and West Pender St. at 101 – 436 Richards Street to be exact. They feature an entirely vegan and raw menu which may throw some people off, but it is nothing short of fabulous.

When I first walked down the stairs and in to this small cafe style restaurant, there were only a few others there. I ordered, and was then informed they were cash only as I was pulling out my debit card. Fortunately though, there is an ATM right next door, or several others in the nearby area. I went to get cash, and then returned. The girl working was nice enough to put in my order while I was away. I decided to order the Morroccan Rawkin Olive “Pizza” ($8) which is a dehydrated, wheat-free and gluten-free sprouted sunflower seed, buckwheat and carrot, flax seed crust, topped with a sun-dried tomato herb sauce and a heavy handful of tenderized kale veggie mix-up, then has a scoop of black olive tapenade and then topped with spicy crushed chili almonds.

I also went with the Helio Tropic smoothie ($6) which is bananas, orange juice, pineapple, kale.

There were tons of amazing looking cookies, pies, chocolates and more there, but I figured what I ordered would be more than enough!

I went to sit down, the initial table I chose was SO wobbly so luckily other tables were available and I quickly moved to another. Once seated, I only waited about 5-7 minutes for everything to be ready which was brought out to me right away.

The food looked great and I was ready to dig in. I first tried the smoothie which was so full of flavour and completely blended, I actually could hardly taste the kale, which usually when I put kale in my smoothies at home, I can really taste, so that was kind of nice.

Next I cut in to the pizza! Which was an amazing flavour. The nuts really did have almost a cheese flavour. I was told this was one of the yummier items on the menu, so give it a try if you like olives!

I was so amazed by the great tastes going on in my mouth, also, as I was eating the placed filled up, all the seats were taken and more and more people kept coming in. One family liked the sound of the menu, until they heard that it was all raw and then they left pretty quick! If only they had tried!!! I was also amazed that I was full for HOURS after, probably until at least 6pm (I went in a 12 noon).

I will definitely go back to this place and take more friends with me who may be skeptical! Gorilla Food is open Monday through Saturday from 11:00AM until 7:00PM. Closed Sundays. Be sure to swing by on your next lunch break! You will not be disappointed.

3 Responses to “My lunch at Gorilla Food”

  1. kingkabuz November 8, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    That pizza looks delicious. I’ll have to keep my eye open for this place when I’m down there next time.

    I’ve never put kale in my blends, mind you I’m usually making a fresh fruit blend in the morning..

    • amyje November 8, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

      Ya! you gotta check it out! its really yummy!

      ya I make a smoothie every morning and usually stuff it with spinach, sometimes kale but the spinach blends easier! this place is a definite must check out its sooo good! try the “pizza” though! Its the best!

      • kingkabuz November 9, 2010 at 3:03 am #

        I like those vege pizzas actually, so tasty, although they are always stuffed with cheese, which I try and stay away from. But I guess with pizza its impossible…

        This is how I do my blends: http://exerciseandmind.com/content/blends

Leave a Reply

