Some of My Favourite Long Weekend Activities

17 May

As you know, the long weekend is coming up and I know for most of us sometimes figuring out what to do is a bit of a challenge. I myself will be heading off to Victoria to see my friends and family and I am planning to do excessive amounts of sleeping and also eating. YIPPEE! Not to mention snuggling with these gigantic muffins

I have my weekend all sorted out, but there are some things happening in Vancouver that I am sad to be missing, or things that I love to do and I am sad I wont get to this long weekend. Here are some of my fav things to do or events that I wish I could attend!

#1 Hip Hop Dance Class at Harbour Dance Centre
Eric Malapad is one of my favourite teachers in Vancouver. He will really bring out the best in you and make you really let go and have fun. If you want to sweat and gain a few new moves, take Eric’s class.
Sunday at 12:30 (intro) or 1:30 (level 1)

#2 Go Watch Bridesmaids Again
Seriously this movie is hilarious. If you are feeling down, or just want to sit and laugh for a couple hours go watch this movie. I would seriously spend an another afternoon or evening watching this again. Check the showtimes

# 3 Naughty By Nature Plays Bar None May 22nd
Come ON!This show is going to be awesome. Not such a big fan of Bar None (snobby people working there!!!) BUT I would go for this. I am SO sad to be missing this event. Are you going?? Lucky jerk! Get tickets

#4 Go to BOGO at Payless
They have so many cute girls shoes right now! Perfect little slips ons for spring. At buy one get one half price you cannot go wrong. Alright, I guess I can also do this in Victoria but seriously! There are some DEALS right now as some of the spring stuff is getting cleared out and the summer stuff arrives. Don’t miss out! Should I also mention that Joe Fresh has $8 t shirts?! Get on that people!

#5 Get a car from Car2Go and head over to Lighthouse Park (with a stop on the way back in to downtown at the Bakehouse of course!)
If you don’t know about Car2Go yet you gotta check them out. Its a great way to get a car inexpensively for a short period of time. You just drop it off in a designated area when you’re done and the Car2Go people take care of gas and all the rest! Check out more about them HERE
I LOVE Lighthouse Park! Its gorgeous there! Such a great place to go on a hiking trip and amazing views of the city. Grab your camera, grab the dog and take a hike!
Anytime I head over that way I have to go to the Bakehouse. They have the most INSANE bread (I think it’s actually a bread made of beer?!) its slightly sweet and just amazing. They have the best salad, sandwiches, chili, insane cookies and pastries and just yumminess all around. perfect stop on the way back in to town after a long hike! Check them out

#6 Go play records, read crazy books, play musical instruments and eat at Prophouse Cafe
If you have still not been to Prophouse Cafe yet then GO!!! It’s an insane ride to another planet. This place is FULL of insane “props” an area where you can play records, play some music on their many instruments, read one of the books lying around and so much more. There is hours of entertainment here! They also have some GREAT full of fruit scones, really great chili and quiche and delicious coffee. They have soy, almond and regular milk to add to your coffee as you wish. Its just a GREAT place and one place I always head to when I am on Commercial Drive (its just off Commercial on Venebles). Take a look at my blog post about it! AND GOOO!!!!!

Well I could go on…. and I will but for now I will leave it at that and add more as we approach Friday. I hope you enjoy your long weekend, be safe and have FUN!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

