Delicious food, trendy atmosphere at Terracotta

14 Feb

Walking in to Terracotta Modern Chinese Restaurant in Gastown, I knew right away I was about to have a very trendy experience. Sometimes when places are too trendy the food tends to suffer, so I was a little nervous but excited for them to prove me wrong. It’s always a bit scary for me trying some place new. You never know what to order and if you will be utterly unimpressed or left dying for more. It’s one of the main reasons I have a terrible tendency to have the same dinner night after night (Sushi!). This was a pleasant surprise.

We sat down at a small table on the upper level of the restaurant, the hostess who brought us to our table was really sweet, our server was really sweet also but seemed like she may have been either a bit clueless about the menu or many she was really new? She was really sweet but wasn’t really able to lead us in the right direction with regards to the menu. Luckily we made our way through

My friend Laura started with an amazing drink called the Chun-Li (Blueberry Stoli, Hpnotiq, Blue Liquer with fresh Dragon Fruit $9.50) it looked amazing. It was a bit sweet for her taste but she wanted to try something new.

I just had a glass of shiraz which was really nice at $10.

I am vegetarian and so did not have the opportunity to try any of the seafood or meat items. Others ordered them at surrounding tables and they looked nice. My friend had the prawn rolls (Prawn stuffed Bean Curd Rolls (Made in house) $7.50-which as reported from her were very good), and the Siu Mai (House Made Pork, Prawn and Mushroom Dumplings $7.50- these she was not a huge fan of, she said they tasted like they weren’t fully cooked and also they came with fish roe on top which she was not a fan of so she could not finish them sadly). She was also Stuffed so that was also a factor. She suggested that it was just her personal taste buds and not the dish per say. She would have liked it to be a bit less “seafood tasting” and more of the cooked pork.

I had two veg dishes! They were both amazing and I ordered some rice on the side.
First up was the Szechuan Green Beans (Wok Tossed Green Beans, Mild Heat and Complex Flavour $9.00) They were SO GOOD! I loved these, I always go for the green beans when I have Chinese (well not that, that is all that often!) They were sweet, spicy and FULL of flavour. This I would recommend AND get again and again. If you are at a table with a few people you should definitely order more than one order as everyone will want some.

I also ordered the Red Chili Tofu (Egg Tofu served in Red Chili Sauce $8.00). This was also really great. The tofu was so soft, yet had a slight “crust” on the outside holding in all the juiciness from the chili sauce. The sauce was spicy and also had a nice saltiness to it. I was breaking up the pieces of tofu and eating them but that was becoming to time consuming, so I decided to just bite in to the pieces, and it actually made the taste EXPLODE in my mouth. I really enjoyed it and it even complimented the green beans really nice. I would have liked both of the dishes to be served with a spoon as it was a little difficult to get the sauce.

The amazing owner of Terracotta, Eric, was kind enough to bring us two Aloe Vodka shots. These were AMAZING we really loved them. I recommend having these both before AND after your dinner. They were sweet and the light taste of Aloe was just a perfect finish to the meal.

It was a great meal all and all! I am looking forward to returning and trying some other items and hopefully coming with a larger group so I can order even more and try other things. I really want to try their Chivas and Green Tea. I wasn’t sure if I would like it, so I didn’t go for it, but maybe next time I will be a bit more adventurous. It was a fairly relaxing environment, they have room for bigger groups and its an ideal place for a date. Super sexy atmosphere and the food isn’t too greasy so you don’t have to worry about being a bloatasaurus afterwards!

Terracotta Modern Chinese Restaurant
52 Alexander St.
Vancouver, BC
604.569.3088
Terracotta is open Tuesday – Saturday, 5pm – Midnight
www.terracottavancouver.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

